LESLIE PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Minutes

Annual Organizational/Regular Meeting Monday, January 13, 2020

7:00 p.m. - Leslie High School Board Room

CALL MEETING

The regular meeting of the Board of Education of the Leslie Public Schools, Ingham and Jackson Counties, Michigan, was called to order by Mary Crowl at 7:00 p.m.

Members present: Mary Crowl

Eric Isham

John Wayne Stewart

Dave Cowing
Deann Maynard
Kevin McDaniel
Shauna Howe

Members absent: None

Administrator(s)

present: Jeff Manthei, Superintendent

Scott Powers Todd Gonser Connie Gonzalez

Troy James Anita Strong Travis McComb

Others: Pat James

Kathryn Wright

Pledge of Allegiance given.

COMMENTS AND/CONCERNS OF CITIZENS PRESENT: None

JANUARY IS SCHOOL BOARD RECOGNITION MONTH

Superintendent Manthei thanked the school board members for their time spent working on school issues. On behalf of the administrators and staff, school board members are appreciated for all they do.

ANNUAL BOARD ORGANIZATION

A. Appointment of a Temporary Chairperson

Moved by E. Isham, supported by D. Cowing that Mary Crowl be appointed temporary Chairperson to serve until the election of a President.

Roll Call Vote that Mary Crowl be appointed as temporary Chairperson: ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

B. Election of Officers (President)

Moved by J.W. Stewart, supported by S. Howe to nominate Dave Cowing as President.

Moved by D. Maynard, supported by J.W. Stewart to close nominations for the office of President.

Roll Call Vote to close the nominations: ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Roll Call Vote for Dave Cowing as President. ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Dave Cowing voted as President until January 11, 2021.

(Vice-President)

Moved by E. Isham, supported by D. Maynard to nominate Mary Crowl as Vice-President.

Moved by K. McDaniel, supported by J.W. Stewart to nominate Shauna Howe as Vice-President.

Moved by J.W. Stewart, supported by S. Howe to close nominations for the office of Vice-President.

Roll Call Vote to close the nominations: ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Roll Call Vote for Mary Crowl as Vice-President. ayes: M. Crowl, E. Isham, and D. Maynard. Nays: J.W. Stewart, K. McDaniel, S. Howe and D. Cowing. Motion failed.

Roll Call Vote for Shauna Howe as Vice-President. ayes: M. Crowl, E. Isham, J.W. Stewart D. Cowing, K. McDaniel, S. Howe. Nays: D. Maynard. Motion carried.

Shauna Howe voted as Vice-President until January 11, 2021.

(Treasurer)

Moved by M. Crowl, supported by S. Howe to nominate Deann Maynard as Treasurer.

Moved by J.W. Stewart, supported by E. Isham, to close nominations for the office of Treasurer.

Roll Call Vote to close the nominations: ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Roll Call Vote for Deann Maynard as Treasurer: ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Deann Maynard voted as Treasurer until January 11, 2021.

(Secretary)

Moved by J.W. Stewart, supported by M. Crowl to nominate Eric Isham as Secretary.

Moved by D. Cowing, supported by M. Crowl to close nominations for the office of Secretary.

Roll Call Vote to close the nominations: ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Roll Call Vote Eric Isham as Secretary: ayes: M. Crowl, J.W. Stewart, E. Isham, D. Cowing, D. Maynard, K. McDaniel and S. Howe. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Eric Isham voted as Secretary until January 11, 2021.

C. Appointment of Board Committee Memberships Building and Grounds Committee

Committee of the Whole

Finance/Budget Committee

Committee of the Whole

Superintendent Evaluation Committee

Committee of the Whole

Health Committee

Eric Isham

Alternate: Mary Crowl

District Advisory Team

Mary Crowl

Alternate: Dave Cowing

Leslie Public Schools Foundation Member

Shauna Howe

Alternate: Dave Cowing Alternate: Mary Crowl

Ingham School Officers Association (I.S.O.A.) Representative

Shauna Howe Mary Crowl

Positive Culture Committee

Dave Cowing

Alternate: John Wayne Stewart

The Board presented certificates of recognition to:

- Sixteen individuals on the Cross Country Team;
- One individual from Girls Volleyball;
- Five individuals on the Football Team;
- Sixteen individuals on the Boys Soccer Team;

CONSENT AGENDA

Moved by J.W. Stewart, supported by S. Howe to approve the January 13, 2020 Agenda; Minutes of the December 9, 2019 regular meeting (open and closed); Officially designate Marcy Russell to implement public notice requirements of the Open Meetings Act; Officially designate Anita Strong to assume specified responsibilities of Treasurer as outlined in Board By-Law 0154G; Officially designate Anita Strong as Electronic Transfer Officer (ETO) in accordance with Policy #6144; bills in the amount of \$333,642.98 be approved for payment as presented; Pcard Statement; General Fund Budget Report and Food Service Budget Report as of 12/31/19.

Vote: ayes 7, nays 0, absent 0, abstention 0. Motion carried.

CORRESPONDENCE:

December 17, 2019 IISD Board Briefs and December 19, 2019, School Law Notes were distributed as informational items.

Dave Cowing shared a parent's note recognizing Mrs. Turner for being awarded the Michigan Excellence Teacher Award; a note congratulating LPS for successful school implementation of MTSS; congratulations letter that stated that Cindy Farley earned the Pupil Accounting Specialist certification;

INFORMATIONAL REPORTS:

A. Facilities Update

Facilities Manager Troy James updated the board on the progress of the HS Boiler installation, soccer and football bleachers, scoreboard, goals and quotes for press box at the football field.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT:

A. Enrollment as of January 6, 2020

Superintendent Jeff Manthei reported that enrollment as of January 6, 2020 is 1272.

BOARD DISCUSSION AND/OR ACTION:

A. Resolution to set Regular Meeting and Workshop Meeting Dates for 2020-21.

Moved by J.W. Stewart, supported by S. Howe that the Resolution to Set Regular Meeting and Workshop Meeting Dates for 2020-21 as shown in enclosure #8 be approved and attached with the minutes of this meeting.

Vote: ayes 7, nays 0, absent 0, abstention 0. Motion carried.

B. Retain Thrun Law Firm

Moved by J. W. Stewart, supported by M. Crowl to retain Thrun Law firm (general counsel) for the 2020 calendar year.

Vote: ayes 7, nays 0, absent 0, abstention 0. Motion carried.

C. Hire Girls Varsity Soccer Coach

Moved by D. Maynard, supported by J.W. Stewart that the Board of Education hire Mazen Ghazy as the Girls Varsity Soccer Coach per the recommendation of Gregory Pscodna.

Vote: ayes 7, nays 0, absent 0, abstention 0. Motion carried.

D. Strategic Planning with Tina Kerr, MASA

Possible dates were discussed for an initial meeting.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by M. Crowl, supported by E. Isham to adjourn the meeting at 8:25 p.m.

Vote: ayes 7, nays 0, absent 0, abstention 0. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Dave Cowing, President Leslie Public Schools